Orsay Museum

The Orsay Museum is located halfway between Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Invalides, near the Bourgogne & Montana Hotel.

It opened to the public on 9 December 1986 with the aim of showcasing the diversity of artistic creation in the Western world from 1848 to 1914.


It brought together national collections primarily from three museums:


• the Louvre Museum for works by artists born after 1820, or making their debut in the art world at the time of France’s Second Republic;

• the Jeu de Paume Museum, which has centred on impressionism since 1947;

• and finally the Museum of Modern Art, which took with it only works by artists born after 1870 when it moved to the Georges Pompidou Centre in 1976.

Yet every artistic discipline represented in the collections of the Orsay Museum has its own history.

 Open from 9.30 am to 6.00 pm and until 9.45 pm on Thursdays

Closed on Mondays